top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLivi R.

Do You Really Have to Wear a Bra?

Greetings my readers!!

This morning, I was brainstorming on what today's blog would be about, and what I could write about that people would hopefully find interesting. I got some suggestions and I was standing in my room and getting dressed, and to be honest, I didn't feel like putting on a bra, and the question I asked is "do I really have to?". So I decided today's blog would be about Bras.




Now, when you are a young girl, about 11 to 14 for most of us and you start going through puberty and you start to grow breasts, your mom or an older female in your life typically says, something like "Look at you! You have breasts!! You have to start wearing a brassiere!!"...but do we really? Here's what..


Bubbies!! Breastes!! These two tings hay pun ya chesteses!!

Breasts, boobs, boobies, tits, titties, tatas, the girls... whatever you choose to call them, are made of mainly fat, glands, connective tissue and fluids. These contents are typically supported against gravity by various tissues and the skin that covers them. As you age these tissues lose elasticity and the support diminishes.

When you’re going about your day, sitting or standing, there is much strain on these elements. As you walk, run or exercise, your breasts may experience tiny injuries, causing pain and discomfort. And for some girls, the weight of a large bust may be too much for the chest and back to support comfortably...

So really and truly.

These are the reasons why one may want to wear a bra:

- To Delay (and not prevent) sagging over time

- Prevent bouncing of breasts, and thus avoid pain and discomfort

- Prevent backaches and spine issues in busty women


And probably excluding those reasons to do directly with protection and preservation, for aesthetic purposes...

- To hide nipples.

- Make some clothes look better

- Help show some cleavage

- Control sweating under the bust

- Act as underwear (adding insulation and reducing friction) for the upper part of a woman’s body


Now honestly, let me just say, I don't think anyone really has a clue what is going on with breasts because one set of people say "Support the breast! To delay the sagging! You don't want droopy boobies do you?" Then I hear others saying "if you don't wear the bra it actually stimulates the muscles and strengthens the natural support, if you wear the bra your breasts will get weak!"

Guys. Really? What is it? Does anyone actually know?

I've even heard " You have to wear a bra so you don't get breast cancer".... I'm not an oncologist, but that one really just doesn't seem to convince me for some reason.

For what it's worth, I've read that in terms of health, (unless exercising and for protection from damage) the benefits of a bra are slim to none. It's really just for aesthetic, whether we are delaying sagging (cause they gonna sag eventually) or we are trying to look nicer in a dress.


But that still doesn't say that you HAVE to wear a bra.


Let's be honest, there are a few drawbacks to bras including:

- Discomfort from straps, clips, wires etc.

- Sweating and heat.

- Bras are expensive!

- Needing 50 different bras to accommodate your entire wardrobe. (Straps showing, patterns printing)


So truthfully, I can understand if you don't want to wear one.




The social issues associated with not wearing one, many girls (small busts or not) are ostracized for choosing not wear a bra in public. She's labelled as promiscuous, she's harassed, the topic of her not wearing a bra is always the conversation, it's constantly commented on and she's seen as backwards.

My opinion for people seeing a girl who is not wearing a bra, especially in a casual setting, is that you leave her alone. She has her reasons and it's really nobody else's say besides her own what she does with her own body. It's casual and the focus is on personal comfort and individuality.

As for professional and business wear, as it's purpose is to be as conservative as possible. The aesthetic purposes of a bra may be required and that's understandable, however, there are alternatives like pasties, gel inserts, lifting tape, sew in cups, blouse tape, camisoles, silicone and bralettes.


My conclusion is you really don't have to wear a bra if you don't want to.

Thanks for coming to my TED Talk, Lol.


Today the quote for this blog is "Watch out!! Bras are often booby-trapped."

Oh gosh, that was cheesy. I deserve a time out.


If you have any comments or questions just use the contact tab below and leave a message and I will reply asap! Let me know anything you would like me to blog about!

If you like to know when I blog you can subscribe with your email.

Thanks and catch up in the next blog!

Ciao!



75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page