top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLivi R.

NIFCA Music Finals Overview!

Happy Monday everyone! And for all of the things I was up to this weekend I have decided that today’s blog would be my review of the NIFCA Music Finals from Sunday night at Frank Collymore Hall.

Let me just start off by mentioning that this year NIFCA is celebrating 45 years of Excellence within NIFCA and I think that thats something commendable for the people of Barbados as well as the National Cultural Foundation. Last night, I heard various genres of music and saw various styles of performance from a talented bunch of Barbadians, and this is only within the discipline of music. I am proud of the amount of talent that Barbadians have to offer.



Now, the first thing I would like to recommend is that if you are attending these events, aim to arrive at the venue at least 30min before the starting time of the event. Finding a place to park and a place to sit is not always an easy task. The “best seats” are filled well before the event begins, and if it is at Frank Collymore Hall, I cannot stress enough that you DRESS WARM. My father didn’t wear socks, and he regretted it, remaining in the lobby and watching on the monitor. LOL mess.


For the performances, I’m not sure that I could truthfully sit here and write that one performance really impressed me over all the others. I believe they were all great and I enjoyed all of them and yes, a few left a little bit to be desired, nevertheless there was no shortage of talent exhibited. So I’m going to mention some of the performers and what I remember of them.


Some of the most enjoyable performances, in my opinion came from:

The Coleridge and Parry School choir, performing 2 songs arranged creatively by one of the students of the school. Incorporating a slice of drama into their performance of “Mille Gone to Brazil”, they truthfully brought a smile to those in the audience.


Israel Lovell Foundation and the Haynesville Youth Club, both presenting themselves in various colorful African wear and delivering an intriguing, energetic and powerful performance on various drums such as the Djembe, Dun Dun and Ashiko african drums.


Whilst those showcasing the most skill or talent in my opinion would be those performances by:

Cherece Richards, with her fiercely strong vocals singing ‘Here Right Now’, and gracing the stage in a blinding sequined dress, and performing ‘Never Enough’ (a song from a movie that which is a personal favorite of mine “The Greatest Showman”).


Angel Stringz, a violin quartet, of Chanté White, Melanie Hinds, Dwain Gill and Joshua Holder. Performing two impressive creative interpretations and arrangements, the quartet inspired feelings of nostalgia for those familiar with the 1972 film with the “Theme from the Godfather” and the well known song originally by the Mighty Gabby, “Emmerton”.


Krystal Cole, a pannist with two renditions of ‘Despacito’ and ‘Feting Family’. I was actually disappointed when she finished her 2nd piece because she left me excited and looking for more, truthfully, I don’t know how her wrists weren’t hurting after that! She was definitely romancing the pan with her performance.


Theres Lambert, a young performer with a truly unique voice, and talent on keyboard, who performed a catchy original entitled ‘Wierdo’. Admittedly, I’m still here singing the chorus to her song as I write this blog. Yes. It’s that catchy.


As all of the performers were not those familiar to the NIFCA stage or any large performance arena at all, some first timers of NIFCA deserving of some recognition are:

A duet from the Coleridge and Parry School performing a famous song from New Zealand in the Maori language entitled “Pokarekare Ana”.

A band from the Combermere School, C6 with a fun and interesting rendition of Rihanna’s “Diamonds”

and Alyssa Gil, performing a christian song originally by Lauren Daigle called ‘You Say’.



In all, the night really was a great showcase of talent we have to offer and I truly hope that the NIFCA stage is not the only place I will be seeing the majority of these performers. Remember that there are still other NIFCA performances and showcases to be held for the Independence Season.


Today the quote for this blog is my favorite part of the NIFCA theme song “NIFCA is for me, NIFCA is for you!, NIFCA is for all Bajans to show what they can do!”

Lol, I hope you enjoyed this blog!


(I have no pictures because photography is prohibited in the Frank Collymore Hall unless permitted by the Hall's management, my apologies!)

If you have any comments or questions just use the contact tab below and leave a message and I will reply asap! Let me know anything you would like me to blog about!

If you like to know when I blog you can subscribe with your email.

Thanks and catch up in the next blog!

Ciao!

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page